I Am A Runner

by Alys Drake

I am a really bad runner, but a runner, nonetheless. I can barely finish a 5K in under 40 minutes so the idea of running a marathon is a fantasy for me.

When I first heard about today’s bombing at the Boston Marathon, I was shocked, then frightened for people I knew from Memphis who were running. I quickly checked my Twitter feed for information and sent private messages on Facebook to people I knew would know how certain people were doing. Thankfully, no one I knew was injured.

I will never look at running in the same way again.

What gives me hope in the face of such evil is that my Twitter feed and my Facebook wall were filled with messages of hope and love.

My denomination was quick to post this:

UMC Boston

And this Facebook update encouraging a positive statement we can all take:

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 10.00.15 PM

So many people posted these wise words from Mr. Rogers:

mr rogers

Locally, our Action News 5 anchor, Joe Birch posted this:

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 10.09.39 PM

And the Memphis Twitter community quickly embraced the hashtag #memrun to track Memphians at the Marathon:

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 10.25.49 PM

I will choose to claim the good in people and see evil for the aberration it is. I believe there are far more people who are good than bad.

The next few months will be filled with analysis and stronger protections for our citizens. Let’s not forget why the line at the airport is taking longer and stop complaining when the NBA wands everyone who enters the FedEx Forum for a Grizzlies game.

And go for a run this weekend.

One thought on “I Am A Runner

Leave a Reply

